DUDE, THIS EXPRESSO IS AWESOME.

Click for source

Are there words you wish you wouldn’t say?  Not just curse words, but words you know you are misusing or mispronouncing? How about words that are just so lame or played out?

Last New Year’s Day I made one resolution.  I determined that this year I would stop using the word “awesome” improperly. I announced my plan to eschew “awesome” to some of my classes and asked my students to remind me whenever I slipped.

I hated “awesome” the most of all the words I often used.  Every time I said it, I felt like an asshole, like I was one of the Sister Wives who use “awesome” improperly in every other sentence. I cringe when they do it because they think they are being so cool.

Click for source

Merriam- Webster defines awe as “an emotion variously combining dread, veneration, and wonder that is inspired by authority or by the sacred or sublime”

The Wizard of Oz was awesome before Toto exposed him.  Niagara Falls is awesome.  Cody, the Sister Wives’ husband is not awesome.

Click for source – Psychopathy Awareness  on WordPress.

My new summer resolution is to stop calling men “dude”.  I can’t help it, it slips out and I know I sound like an idiot.

Any day now the Sister Wives will start calling Cody dude and then I will have to shoot my tv set.

I used to have strong feelings about the word “espresso”.  Even though I know how to pronounce it  properly – “eSS-press-o”-  I often found myself asking baristas for “eX-presso” and feeling like a total rube.

Funnily enough, our governor’s girlfriend, Sandra Lee, also calls it eXpresso on her tv show, but then again, I think she strives to sound like a rube and I love her for it.

Click for source

If you have words you wish you wouldn’t say – make a resolution. Practice.  It can work.  I finally cured myself of the eXpresso curse through practice.  Awesome is coming along nicely too, but dude, we are still working on dude.

4 Responses to “DUDE, THIS EXPRESSO IS AWESOME.”


  1. 1 Mark Lenes July 24, 2012 at 10:20 pm

    Fucking Awesome

  2. 3 Seth Nevins July 25, 2012 at 12:21 am

    Dude, you’re like, a totally awesome writer.

    Speaking of awesome, here is the world’s second finest commentary on the abuse of the English language…..

    Hope to see you soon!


Leave a Reply

