Student Dreams/Teacher Dreams – It’s Midterms Week!

One of the four copies of Edvard Munch’s “The Scream” will be on view at MOMA until April 2013.
Image from Wikipedia, click for source

 

Have you ever had the “examination dream”?

Virtually every college student has had some variant of the same exam dream:

– You are late for a final exam and/or

– You registered for the class but haven’t attended  all semester and/or

–  You haven’t studied at all – you don’t even know what the class was about and/or

–  You can’t find the room where the exam is being conducted and/or

–  When you finally get to the exam, it’s over.

Who knows what these dreams mean?  There are many explanations.

Fortunately I haven’t had those student dreams in ages, but, I do have teacher dreams.  I am not sure whether most professors teach in their dreams, but I sure do.

Once in a while I conduct entire Estates, Trusts and Wills classes in my dreams.  I cover the the  same material in the dreams as I do in waking class.  Some nights it seems as if the dreams last hours, and I wake up tired, but weirdly happy that my brain is working on my class even when I sleep.

 

Image from http://dreamstudies.org/2011/02/24/binaural-beats-for-lucid-dreaming-is-it-just-pseudoscience/

Last summer though, I had a teacher dream that reminded me of the dreaded student exam dream:

I had a visitor to my class –  Morgan Freeman looking very handsome and distinguished.   I was psyched to teach a great class for such an esteemed guest.

Image from imbd
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0000151/

I began lecturing and although I rarely use notes in class any more, in the dream, I really needed my notes and they were all blank.

I started to panic – I couldn’t find the pages in the notes that related to the lecture topic.  I was frantically flipping the pages in vain, searching for what I wanted to talk about, but I couldn’t even remember the topic. 

It was a relief to wake up and remember that it was  summer break, but guess what?

I ended up re-writing my class notes for Estates, Trusts and Wills!   Now,they are up to date and linked to a trove of great sites and much better.

Thank you dream Morgan Freeman – message received!

Now, if only every student would study the notes……that would be a waking dream come true.

0 Responses to “Student Dreams/Teacher Dreams – It’s Midterms Week!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

